“Car Radio” – Twenty One Pilots

Oh gosh, after my last post I told myself I needed to be on this; however, two months later and I’m still finding it hard to carve out time to sit, reflect, and form whole sentences.

26
PC: The Importance of Technology, Media in our Culture

Life hasn’t slowed down! Pea and Carrots are now one. ONE! How in the world did that happen? Seriously, I feel like I’ve only been off “work” for a few months, not over a year. The girls are into everything, fight sleep of any kind (I on the other hand would not argue if someone put me to bed for a nice rest multiple times a day while continued to complete my scheduled tasks for the day!), began to use signs to communicate as well as babble away, and never let daddy complete a full yoga session without interruption. As you can guess, yoga in our home is not a very relaxing experience.

Usually I either have a song I can’t get out of my head that influences my writing or an idea rolling around that I know is my next topic. Not this time. I had no clear idea what I wanted to write about in this post until my fingers started flying.

We’ve had the death of my husbands father at a young age very recently, we’re trying to seriously downsize our belongings in an effort to shift our attachment from “stuff” to help us live lives where we place value on people/experiences/and quality time spent enjoying each other, we don’t have a baby-proofed home, use cloth diapers, and our kids eat what we do without traditional highchairs. Needless to say, our life has been “messy” as of late.

My father-in-law’s passing wasn’t completely unexpected, although it was still shocking, as when I met my husband years ago his father was ill and had been for many more. His passing has made us focus and hone what we want our lives to look like, and what legacy we want to leave.

Have ya’ll ever heard of Marie Kondo? Her whole book is basically about letting go of your stuff in an effort to bring more joy into your home, and if you’ve read my previous post, Danny’s Song, you know my husband and I are fans of Dave Ramsey. So between those two, we’re going to have a tidy house and money from selling all the stuff that doesn’t bring us joy. Um, score!

With my FIL’s passing, we evaluated our lives and asked ourselves, “When we’re on our death bed, what are we going to be proud of? What are we going to reflect back on and thing fondly of?” Not one of our answers to each other was the super rad phone that that fruit brand told us we had to have. Not the TV show everyone keeps talking about. We decided we need to silence what the world is telling us our dollars need to value, ahem, their products of course, and take a step back from the fast pace that is the norm these days.

I have these thoughts. So often I ought to replace that slot. With what I once bought
’cause somebody stole my car radio and now I just sit in silence.”

Game on.

Game plan? Getting rid of our smart phones. iPhone 7 that everyone is fawning over? Nope! Selling our 6’s and getting flip phones.

What?! Did she just say that? Yes. “There is no distraction to mask what is real”

Goodbye instant gratification, goodbye straight convenience, and goodbye cell phone bill of $114. I have to admit, this scares me a bit, but I am looking forward to eliminating another distraction. The Mr. pulled down an old school cell phone he had from years ago (yes, we’re working on his hoarding Ms. Kondo) and I ordered a pre-owned slider phone off ebay as its just an item … right?

This is yet another step in the right direction for our family, detaching from what society says we need and rather channeling our focus on what we deem important. “I ponder of something terrifying ’cause this time there’s no sound to hide behind.”

I’ll keep ya’ll posted on how this step-back, or rather, step up, goes. It shall be interesting to say the least!

Moral of the story: Live a life you can be proud of, one not influenced by clever marketing.

One thought on ““Car Radio” – Twenty One Pilots

Leave a Reply

