“I’m Only Sleeping” – The Beatles

The twins are not only teething, they are also going through a sleep regression. Needless to say, “when I wake up early in the morning, lift my head, I’m still yawning.”

But, I.Feel.Human.Again. For the first night in over a week, both girls slept through the night.

24. I'm Only Sleeping
PC: Mind Body Life Wellness

Before this, um, right of passage, I thought I was golden in the sleep area with the girls.  If you’ve read A Few of my Favorite Things, you know the twins started sleeping 8 hours through the night at 6 weeks, which has since grown into 11 hours of sleep each night.

I had no idea there was a 8-10 month regression coming; therefore, I was unaware I would be jarred awake in the middle of the night … again. My sweet little muffin, I’m going to start calling her Peas, has not only been teething but she is also moving like a mad woman! My other little muffin, I’m going to start calling her Carrots, is not moving quite as much as Peas and hasn’t awoke in the middle of the night, aside from sister’s noise, which, unfortunately, means we’re not done yet!

Ugh! “Please, don’t wake me.”

Since the beginning of this little regression, which began the day they turned 9 months, I have done a bit of research. I am trying not to introduce new habits that the girls will become accustomed to, but I also can’t just let Peas self-sooth, loudly, as she tends to do, as that wakes up Carrots. So what’s a mama to do?

I created the most sleep inducing environment I possibly could!

I’ve added a few things to our normal bedtime routine; I have started to give the girls two Hyland Teething Tablets prior to putting their night diapers on. The girls open wide for these little tablets so I believe they do relieve some of their teething discomfort (even though it is totally acceptable to give them tablets throughout the day, I don’t, I just keep them busy and have plenty of things for them to chew on to help their teething process). I also relocated our essential oil diffuser to their bedroom, and turn on their white noise machine, as well as a cool-mist humidifier, 5-10 minutes before I put Peas and Carrots in their cribs. Let me tell you, their room is spa-like! I am very tempted to buy two more oil diffusers and humidifiers so we have one in each room of the house!

“Lying there staring at the ceiling, waiting for a sleepy feeling.” I swear both kiddos are asleep in about 5 minutes in that dream inducing setting.

I will be one happy mama if Carrots misses this regression and we have paid our dues with sleep already lost although I realize that is probably wishful thinking.

Moral of the Story: Good sleep is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

