“Peaches” – The Presidents of the United States of America

17.1 Peaches

We are in no way vegetarians, but we do not eat meat on the regular. If you’ve read the post, Sowing the Seeds of Love, you know that the Mr. and I have a large organic garden that we love to eat from; one thing we didn’t plant, but I wish we did is, “Millions of peaches, peaches for me.”

The more we clean up our calorie consumption the more we can assess how certain foods affect us. My asthma is non-existent when I stay away from added sugar. I also have loads more energy when I stay away from meat and dairy. Unlucky for me, I love anything with sugar. Hence the peaches, I’m trying to satisfy my sweet tooth with fruit, which I must admit is much easier in the summer. Watermelon, peaches, and berries, oh my!

The Mr. actually feels better when he stays away from grains and coffee, although he loves the taste of it, they both cause turmoil for his belly. He too feels more energetic when he stays away from meat and dairy.

No meat, dairy, coffee, grains or added sugar? Sounds crazy, I know, but the food we eat has so much flavor through spices and what not that those few ingredients are hardly missed. Well, we do actually eat cheese from time to time, but in small amounts, mostly on pizza! We’ll also eat meat or bread/pasta when we’re at someones house and that’s what they’re preparing, or we have a hankering, but those instances aren’t very often.

Here is my actual dinner meal plan for this upcoming week:

Wednesday – Eggplant Meatballs with spaghetti squash

Thursday – Tuscan Bean Soup

Friday – Cheese Pizza with garlic, basil, mushrooms, and olives

Saturday – Zucchini Casserole

Sunday – Crockpot Quinoa, Sweet Potato Fajitas

Monday – Butternut Squash and Mushroom Soup

Tuesday – Yam Chickpea Spinach Curry

These are all tried and true recipes, except the Eggplant Meatballs, that one is new this week. I tend to substitute items that we prefer over ones listed, forgotten at the store or not in season yet from the garden, and flat out exclude items such as meat.

Maybe that will be my next step, to show how I rearrange recipes we try that become family favorites with substitutions, additions, and/or subtractions.

Moral of the story: Try something new this week, who knows you just might like it!

Leave a Reply

