“Thrift Shop” – Macklemore

15. Thrift Shop
PC: ModCity Magazine

Thrift stores, estate sales, and Craigslist … oh my!

If you’ve read my previous post, Give it Away, you know that if someone ever broke into our home, they would be severely disappointed. We don’t live in a trash heap, by any means, but we don’t have anything fancy nor brand new that anyone would be stoked to steal. Our flat screen TV in the living room has a line through it where pixels are going out, our computer is older and clunky, we inherited our living room chairs from my grandparents, and everything else is a hodgepodge of mostly pre-loved furniture, but it all works and we have a unique, warm, and welcoming home.

People get rid of good stuff all the time! For instance, we scored our headboard, desk, and wood for projects off Craigslist, for free. I got two Stokke Tripp Trapp high chairs for less than the price of one, accessories for our Bob duallie stroller for half off (stroller was an awesome baby shower gift), a few organic sleepers in the next size up for a dollar a piece, and two pair of never been worn Toms shoes for the girls for $5…and that’s all within the past month or so.

I’d say 1 out of every 5 items I get will still have the original price tag on them and some of my favorite clothing pieces have come from thrift shops as have most of the Mr.’s button down work shirts.

I’m also proud to say I have yet to purchase “new” clothes for the girls as they grow so fast, I’m happy with getting things from the local thrift store or dressing them in outgrown clothes given to us from friends children.

Do we care about labels? Obviously not, as we’re not trying to impress people with our stuff.

Even though I enjoy this lifestyle now, I wasn’t always this way.

In my early 20’s, (after my punk stage, as it was rad to wear that off the wall shirt you scored at the thrift shop), during the time I took off from college to work, I was a legal assistant to the VP of a large law firm; I totally got wrapped up into what I drove, the labels I wore, where I ate my meals, who I was seen with, and the like. Driving to the yacht club for an event, with the top down, in a pair of killer heels and the perfect blouse, being seen in the company of the cute new associate? I was all about that.

Been there, done that – lived, and learned.

Additionally, the Mr. and I agree, if it’s being advertised, we don’t need it. ANY OF IT.

15.2 Thrift Shop
PC: La La via Pinterest

I now love shopping for pre-loved items. The Mr. and I think it’s kind of thrilling to see what deals we can find. In fact, if you’ve read my post, Old McDonald had a Farm, you know the Mr. was trying to build our chicken coop with all found and re-used material (and did very well! but more on that later…). “One man’s trash, that’s another man’s come-up.”

Moral of the story: Recycle, there’s still life in that not needed item … and I might want it.

2 thoughts on ““Thrift Shop” – Macklemore

Leave a Reply

