“Give it Away” – Red Hot Chili Peppers

I was reading this article recently, 21 Surprising Statistics That Reveal How Much Stuff We Actually Own,  and it was very humbling. The Mr. and I try to truly live a simple lifestyle; in fact, if anyone broke into our home, they would be very upset at the lack of booty they’d score.

“Greedy little people in a sea of distress, Keep your more to receive your less, Unimpressed by material excess … ”

Even though we are trying to live simply it seems we still acquire so much stuff! I’m not even talking about the crazy amount of baby things we have right now either – two swings, two bouncy chairs, a door jumper, a jumper thing-y, a play mat, and the walker that is currently residing in my living room. I’m talking about all the stuff the Mr. and I have accumulated over the years. Now we’re of the opinion that if we can’t find a home for it, we typically don’t need it, or if we haven’t used it in a while, we don’t really need it either.

When the Mr. and I got married the purge began, we each had a houseful of everything we needed, hence we got rid of one whole house worth of items. The little charity run thrift shop by my house must have thought I was going homeless with all the stuff I was donating.

We don’t have that much stuff to give away anymore, but I do keep paper shopping bags in our coat closet in which I try to put those things we no longer need, that are still in good condition (no one wants to buy pre-owned stuff in bad condition!) for the purpose of donation.

Give it away photo

PC: The Keep Calm-O-Matic

That kitchen drawer that won’t close easily? It contains those two “must have” gadgets in which were only used a handful of times.  Toss them in the bag.

Those pants that once fit perfectly but are no longer flattering, thanks to the last few pounds of baby weight I have yet to shed, in the bag, as I know my body will never be the same again.

The size 3-6 months the girls are close to outgrowing? If none of my friends with younger girls want/need them, our church has a ministry which caters to single mothers who need a little help, in that bag they will go.

No sense in holding on to things if they aren’t going to be used by us again, right?

“Give it away give it away give it away give it away now … ”

The next time I head to those places, I just grab the bag with the items we’ve placed in them and drop them off while there. Sometimes the bag is full, others there are just a few items. Easy.

It’s crazy when I think about all the stuff I *think* I need, yet when I put items in the donate bag I don’t miss it! I have yet to regret anything I have donated, and honestly, I can barely remember the majority of the things we’ve given away, even if I’ve held on to it for years, upon years.

Moral of the story: There’s always room to simplify.

One thought on ““Give it Away” – Red Hot Chili Peppers

Leave a Reply

