“Old McDonald had a Farm”

The Mr. has been working diligently on a chicken coop and it’s almost complete!

5. Old McDonald Photo

Ain’t she a beauty? I can’t wait for it to be done!

First off let me give my dear sweet husband some praise.  He is not only one smart cookie – he has a Masters degree, he’s also incredibly creative, can fix and build anything, he’s affectionate and kind, a wonderful father, a total man’s man and a complete hunk.  Did I totally luck out, or what?

5. Old McDonald Man Photo

Yes, I am one lucky gal!

Anyway, back to the story.

We set out to see if we (ha! I say we like I really had a part in this coop’s creation) could make this for free.  Yes, you read that right, free.   So far we have either been given wood, or found it by scouring the free section of craigslist. The Mr. has bought a few things, such as hinges from the Habitat for Humanity reuse store, and some screening material as well as corrugated metal for the roof from the local home improvement store. He only bought the roofing material as rain was in the forecast and he wanted to be sure to protect our new little structure. We are less than $30 into it thus far. Score!

I’ll update ya’ll when it’s complete. I can almost hear the girls now,”with a cluck cluck here and a cluck cluck there…”

I’ve seen some super creative names out there, what’s your coop name?

Moral of the story: My husband is awesome.

4 thoughts on ““Old McDonald had a Farm”

Leave a Reply

