“Crazy” – Gnarls Barkley

The girls will be four months this week and this evening the Mr. hollers from the nursery, “Are the girls ready to potty train yet?” Ha! I wish!

Can you tell we’re first time parents?

Speaking of diapers and potty training, we cloth diaper and I love it.  Do I love hosing fecal matter out on the daily? Absolutely not, but I like it better than the alternative.

I know exactly what you’re thinking; it’s the same thing my mama told me when I explained my plan when I still had two buns in the oven – I must be crazy to cloth diaper twins!

Well, if you don’t already know, you’ll soon find out, so I might as well throw it out there … I am half crazy.

If you’ve read my previous post, The Times They Are A Changin’, you already know that nothing according to my perfectly crafted birth plan went according to my perfectly crafted birth plan.  “Ha ha ha bless your soul, You really think you’re in control.” After nearly 30 hours of labor I ended up having a c-section; therefore, I needed to heal in a much different way than I expected and I wasn’t even supposed to lift my totally dependent little babes (pishhh!).

To make things easier on ourselves in the beginning, ya know, because I couldn’t ask my husband to not only care for me in my healing, plus do the majority of the caring for our brand new twin girls aside from feeding and wash cloth diapers, we used disposables.

We used one of the most earth friendly, as toxin-free-as-they-come diapers that I could find, and I must say that we did not have a single “blowout” or mess outside the diaper; however, we did get diaper rash.  After I healed enough to bend at the waist, to allow me to do laundry, is when we started the cloth.

Yes, it is more work, but not that much more. I do a load of diapers every other evening and fold them the next morning.  The poop doesn’t even bother us much because we have that handy dandy little spray nozzle attached to our toilet to flush away the particles and I have Biokleen Bac-Out in a spray bottle next to the toilet to spritz on the diapers to make sure there’s no staining left behind.

There are so many systems out there and a ton of cute diapers that one can get; but we were/are not going for cute.  Poop is not cute. We were/are going for 1) saving money, and 2) not putting a ton of diapers into a landfill.

If you talk to my mother, who truly is a delight, she just thinks we’re extreme in our lifestyle, she’ll say that trash gets composted and makes beautiful soil; however, I know we would never just toss a disposable diaper in our compost pile.

Crazy photo
PC: Lil Bums

I don’t know if the above photo is an accurate representation of cloth diapers vs disposable diapers, but what if it’s half right?  And I have two in diapers!

After I found out we were having twins, and not having any twins in the family, what-so-ever, nor did I have any close friends with twins, I set out to find twin mama’s to talk to in order to gain some real insight to the matter. Interestingly enough, both twin mama’s I talked to cloth diapered.  If they can do it, so can I, right? Right!

Both those mama’s used all-in-one’s (AIOs), but after watching this awesome video, Cloth Diapering 101, doing research of our own, and coming across a fantastic deal on a large amount of pre-folds/covers, we decided to use pre-folds and covers.

No, dear husband, the twinsies are not ready to potty train yet, but hopefully by this time next year!

Moral of the story: Poop’s no fun to deal with no matter what catches it.

 

3 thoughts on ““Crazy” – Gnarls Barkley

  1. I agree, cloth diapering is not hard and only adds a little bit of extra time; the environment and money saved are definitely worth it! 🙂 We used prefolds and covers with baby #3 but will be using pocket diapers with #4 (due in June). I’m looking forward to it, as weird as that sounds! Do you use cloth wipes? Last time I cut up some old t-shirts but they were flimsy so this time I’m sewing two layers (flannel and t-shirt cotton) together. Easy! 🙂

    Like

    1. We do use cloth wipes. I took the million and one receiving blankets we were gifted, cut them into squares and place them in a wipe container with my homemade wipe solution. Zero toxicity and reusable, win-win!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

